X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Dave2002
    • Dec 2010

Making email manageable

I have been using email for many years, not quite since the dawn of time, but almost. In days gone by, when email flows were relatively minute, I and my friends used it like instant messanger, and might send messages such as "Is it time for a tea break?" "Meet you in the hall at 12.30".

Nowadays email is becoming more and more unmanageable. The rise of laptops and mobile computing hasn't helped at all.
    Many people probably use "free" wifi in public locations, which often comes with a "requirement" to provide an email address. This is then likely to result in bombardment of one's email inbox with advertising and other junk, and nowadays such items may be much larger than messages of yesteryear.

Even if one actually wants occasional emails from a company or organisation, some now send out daily updates, with a lot of detail, and material one is hardly going to read or have time to read. Where an organisation is selling goods (e.g. clothes), some send messages with lots of pictures, which take up considerable space. Some of the messages will largely reside on remote servers, but many still have a storage impact on the client machine. This may be small perhaps a few Kbytes, but with thousands coming in quickly even this can cause problems in a fairly short time.

There is also, perhaps, a trend towards people using laptops over desktop machines, even though desktops are often better to work with, for many reasons. Laptops, until fairly recently, usually have less memory and backing storage than desktops, and can become difficult to manage if the available memory is cluttered up with files and other unwanted material. Unfortunately, the continual bombardment with email does not help.