To what extent do you agree with the Penguin jazz lists.........

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Lat-Literal
    • Aug 2015

To what extent do you agree with the Penguin jazz lists.........

........as being the best summary of jazz records through the ages?

What have they unequivocally got right and where are they wrong?
  • CGR
    • Aug 2016

Never read it.

Comment

• gradus
      • Nov 2010

Afraid I've never heard of them/it.

Comment

• Quarky
        • Dec 2010

Vaguely rings a bell. Checking the Web, I noted: http://www.tomhull.com/ocston/nm/notes/pjazz-core.php

Few of the albums that spring to my mind are listed, but I'm no expert.

Comment

• Lat-Literal
          • Aug 2015

As soon as I started this thread I had a sense of deja vu as if I had asked the same question before. The replies may suggest that I haven't - and yes, the list provided by Oddball is what I had in mind but there are two which are periodically updated. A key list and a much more comprehensive list and they have been the basis to some of my recent exploring.

Comment

• Ian Thumwood
            • Dec 2010

I had forgotten about this book. I had a copy from the late 1990s which was interesting but I don't think it has been issued since the passing of Richard Cook, a journalist who was always worth reading. I don't think Brian Morton works on recent editions which must be difficult to compile because of the fact that everything is now downloaded and much of the jazz repertoire not represented on CD. There has been a marked diminution in issued jazz over the last two years with a number of records I have chased down being unobtainable through Amazon and costing ££££ through the labels directly.

The issue of rating records is usually subjective and I liked to match their assessments with my own impressions. Some of the comments made in the book seemed salient but I recall that some ratings slipped over a number of editions.

Comment

• Rcartes