The name of the evensong section that ends "... is now and ever shall be..."?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Aeon
    • May 2021

The name of the evensong section that ends "... is now and ever shall be..."?

Hello --

I wonder if anyone can help me with a question. I am not a music expert and I have no knowledge about choral music, I just enjoy listening to Choral Evensong on Radio 3 on Wednesdays and Sundays. I've noticed each evensong has different parts (parts of the mass I guess). My favourite part is near the start where the singing leads to the bit where they sing "As it was in the beginning, is now and ever shall be, world without end, amen".

What is that section called? It always seems to have the most beautiful (and often unusual) harmonies. I'd like to be able to search and find choirs singing that bit.

Thanks.
  • ardcarp
    Late member
    • Nov 2010

Originally posted by Aeon View Post
    Hello --

I wonder if anyone can help me with a question. I am not a music expert and I have no knowledge about choral music, I just enjoy listening to Choral Evensong on Radio 3 on Wednesdays and Sundays. I've noticed each evensong has different parts (parts of the mass I guess). My favourite part is near the start where the singing leads to the bit where they sing "As it was in the beginning, is now and ever shall be, world without end, amen".

What is that section called? It always seems to have the most beautiful (and often unusual) harmonies. I'd like to be able to search and find choirs singing that bit.

Thanks.
    It's the Gloria, sung at the end of every Psalm (occasionally omitted during Lent) and Canticle, and is also part of the Responses.

English version:

Glory be to the Father and to the Son
    And to the Holy Ghost
    As it was in the beginning,
    Is now and ever shall be
    World without end, Amen.

Comment

• Vox Humana
      • Dec 2012

[Post deleted because already answered by ardcarp.]

Comment

• kernelbogey