X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Thropplenoggin
    • Jul 2024

Mahler 2: Rattled by Rattle

Perhaps this is very old news for many, but I've just been disturbed by the opening movement of Rattle's (in)famous account of Mahler's Symphony No. 2 with the CBSO. It's my first run-through of this newly-arrived CD.

I'm familiar with Tennstedt's LPO Live account, Mehta's famous account on Decca Legends, and Klemperer's take on EMI.

The rubato seems all over the shop in Rattle's version. I'm no musician and can't read scores, but is he taking liberties with the score? It sounds so different from the other three versions I have. The middle crescendo is slowed right down, losing its impact, as is the ending. It feels bizarre, but perhaps he is being accurate and the other conductors sped things up?

It sounds wrong to me, but perhaps Rattle's 'right'.
  • rauschwerk
    • Nov 2010

If I remember rightly, Rattle paid close attention to the very first recording of this piece (Oskar Fried, 1924) in preparing this recording. Fried knew Mahler and had been invited to direct a performance in 1905.

Comment

• Ariosto

Join the club. If you love Mahler don't get the Rattled version ... Rattle's only ever wrong.

Comment

• Roehre

Originally posted by rauschwerk View Post
        If I remember rightly, Rattle paid close attention to the very first recording of this piece (Oskar Fried, 1924) in preparing this recording. Fried knew Mahler and had been invited to direct a performance in 1905.
        Rattle did. So far for HIP Mahler. And again the situation that quite a lot of people are more interested in X's Mahler or Y's Mahler than in Mahler himself.

Comment

• Thropplenoggin

Originally posted by Roehre View Post
          Rattle did. So far for HIP Mahler. And again the situation that quite a lot of people are more interested in X's Mahler or Y's Mahler than in Mahler himself.