X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Thropplenoggin
    • Jul 2024

"Benjamin Britten at 100 - time for a new appraisal?"

A more relaxed attitude may be emerging towards the colossal musical legacy of Britain's modern titan of the opera

This seems a sort of muddled article, really.

I'm new to Britten and not all of what I've heard does it for me. But the 'Serenade for Horns, Tenor & Strings', especially with Anthony Rolfe Johnson, had an immediate impact. I also think the three string quartets and three cello suites are brilliant, forward-looking works that have something new to offer in these musical forms. I wonder if anyone's heard the latest Hyperion release featuring Alban Gerhardt/Andrew Manze in Britten's cello works?

On these works alone, I'd say he merits his reputation as a great British composer, and I'm only skimming the surface of his oeuvre.
    Last edited by Guest; 13-01-13, 19:56.
  • Mary Chambers
    • Nov 2010

I have found it fascinating to watch (so to speak) Britten turn from a very famous, dynamic, influential but to me rather mysterious living person, as he was in my childhood and youth - I was 36 when he died - into a historical figure. I always found most of his music bewitching, and the more I learned about it and him the more bewitched I became. I watch with interest from the sidelines as younger generations air their views on him. I am not detached enough to 'assess' his standing now myself, but I'm delighted to see how widespread his music now is.

I must say I find Thomas Ades's view that his operas are 'obvious' absolutely hilarious.

Comment

• kernelbogey
      • Nov 2010