X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • lucilus
    • Sep 2024

Jascha Heifetz: The Complete Album Collection

Does anyone know whether this 103 cd set is newly remastered or the old bmg/rca set which had such a bad press when it was first issued? I am not clear whether the the whole original issue was panned or just the remastering of the early recordings. It seems to be available at wildly different prices on the internet.
  • pastoralguy
    • Nov 2010

Sorry lucilus, I've no idea about the re-mastering of this set since I've not seen it in a shop to examine it. However, My finger has been poised over the 'buy it now' button on eBay on a few occasions recently! So far, I've resisted but I really wanted the original set. Alas, I was a student so I couldn't afford it. You probably know that the original set goes for crazy prices second hand.

I have a few discs from that set and I've always found the sound to be fine especially on the oldest recordings from the turn of the century. (Believe it or not, I got those early sets in a charity shop for a pound each! My jaw hit the floor when I saw them).

At £1.70 a disc it's probably well worth it. As I said, have a look at eBay since soneone is selling them for about £180 although there is also a 'best offer' tag so you might get the price reduced.

Good luck!

Comment

• lucilus

This is now being sold on Amazon at 168.57 plus 1.26 postage. But still I cant find out whether this is a new remastering.

Comment

• mikealdren
        • Nov 2010

Lucilus,
        I bought a set. The booklet credits those responsible for the remastering but I'm not sure what they have actually done, have they simply repackaged some of the existing recordings? Certainly the say the older recordings are packaged suggests that they have just reissued the old Heifetz edition.

I'll do some comparisons at the weekend and report back.

Mike

Comment

• pastoralguy
          • Nov 2010