X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Lateralthinking1
    • Jun 2024

Daft question of the week

Hi. I'm mainly to be found on the world music forum. I have some knowledge and understanding of quite a wide range of music. However, I don't generally feel very confident in discussing classical music and am only aware of bits and pieces.

This means that I have some fairly vague ideas about likes and dislikes. I don't tend to choose work by the Germanic heavyweight composers that I get the impression is regarded as the real stuff.

I veer towards the English, French, Spanish and Italian, Eastern European and Russian, American, the 19th and 20th century, the romantic, folky and experimental. I could name certain pieces that I like - eg A London Symphony by Vaughan Williams - but not large numbers of them.

What I have never understood is how one performance of a classical piece on record or cd can be heard as far better than another of the same music. Yes, I understand how instruments are played by some with more emotion. There are also recordings of historical significance and live performances obviously vary.

However, I should have thought that there was far less scope for a unique interpretation than in popular music. There one "version" of a song can be quite different from another not only in arrangement but in tempo.

My question then is how can one tell what is a great classical recording and what is simply run-of-the-mill?

If I am deciding, I mainly choose the most well known conductors and orchestras or perhaps performers who share the same country of birth as the composers. But I feel sure that there is more to it and I am looking for a few signposts!
    Last edited by Guest; 03-12-10, 15:47.
  • Philidor

Originally posted by Lateralthinking1 View Post
    My question then is how can one tell what is a great classical recording and what is simply run-of-the-mill?