Vinyl v. Polycarbonate v. Silicon v. magnetic disc/tape v. ...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Bryn
    Banned
    • Mar 2007

Vinyl v. Polycarbonate v. Silicon v. magnetic disc/tape v. ...

Since we are still just about in 'silly season', let's hear arguments in favour and against various alternative playback options.

I favour polycarbonate discs for a combination of convenience, relative durability and presentation (packaging), silicon for compactness and portability, and magnetic disc for bulk storage. Vinyl, with its RIAA curves, questionable pressings, surface noise, etc. you can keep, except where no alternative exists.

How about others?
  • Eine Alpensinfonie
    Host
    • Nov 2010

Anything solid, unaffected by magnetic fields. It looks like polycarbonate.

Comment

• mikealdren
      • Nov 2010

As an engineer, I know that analogue can ultimately sound better (no conversion to digital and back) but digital recording and technology has moved on a lot since CDs were introduced and my once 'high end' LP playback system and old LPs don't really compare with a high quality modern CD system even ignoring the extraneous noises.

However I no longer use polycarbonate beyond ripping to computer. My new (non CD) playback system sounds better and gives vastly better 'instant' access from a catalogue.

During the conversion I did also find a few CDs that no longer play but only a handful in 2,600.

Comment

• Dave2002
        • Dec 2010

Originally posted by mikealdren View Post
        As an engineer, I know that analogue can ultimately sound better (no conversion to digital and back) but digital recording and technology has moved on a lot since CDs were introduced and my once 'high end' LP playback system and old LPs don't really compare with a high quality modern CD system even ignoring the extraneous noises.