X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Dave2002
    • Dec 2010

Do you enjoy older or old recordings?

I have been collecting records, tapes and CDs for over 50 years now. I can recall some very good sounding recordings from older years, though even some new at the time recordings were not terribly good. I did also listen to 78s, which had obvious problems, though some were enjoyable nevertheless.

Over years I have bought CDs which are reissues of earlier recordings, and some are really disappointing. In some cases this is because the originals were even before the period of my LP collecting - probably mono recordings made to tape, or even other methods, and some transfers from 78s. In other cases I wonder whether the originals were really as bad as some now sound. Partly this could be due to changes in my hearing, but despite that I do wonder whether there are problems with modern transfers to CD.

A couple of recent examples:

Bax Symphony 2, Goossens from Dutton Vocalion: 1956 recording according to the notes.

Beethoven violin sonatas,, Arthur Grumiaux and Clara Haskil in a Regis box - The Art of the Violin, again from 1956-7.

I can enjoy the music making of this last one, but I think Grumiaux may have recorded some of the pieces in the box again later, and I would expect those to sound better.

It's easy to shrug things off and say that recording techniques weren't so good in the 1960s, but I recall hearing several recordings which sounded superb, albeit to my then somewhat younger ears.
  • umslopogaas
    • Nov 2010

I wonder if the problem is that when you first heard them, it was on equipment that had limited range - both dynamics and frequency - and therefore the limitations of the recordings werent apparent. Now you hear them on modern equipment which doesnt have those restrictions, and the limitations of the recording now show up.