X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Petrushka
    • Nov 2010

New Year's Day Concert 2011

Really looking forward to this one. I've been saying for several years that Franz Welser-Most is the right man for this event. He has a real feel for the music of the Strauss family as evidenced by a recording with the LPO years ago.

No Frankly-Worse-Than-Most jokes please. I expect this to be the best NYDC since Carlos Kleiber.
    "The sound is the handwriting of the conductor" - Bernard Haitink
  • Alison
    • Nov 2010

The programme looks quite exciting. Quite a few works I don't immediately recognise from the titles.

Though I have adored both Pretre concerts I fancy this will be something quite special. Idiomatic and all that.

ANY NEWS ON NEXT YEAR'S CONDUCTOR ?

Comment

• subcontrabass
      • Nov 2010

Originally posted by Petrushka View Post
      Franz Welser-Most
      I see he is also the conductor of Don Giovanni, to be broadcast the evening of January 1st.

Comment

• Mr Pee
        • Nov 2010

Originally posted by Petrushka View Post
        I expect this to be the best NYDC since Carlos Kleiber.
        Brave words, Petrushka! That concert is one of my most treasured musical memories. Best since, possibly...we'll find out in a couple of days time......but never as good as!
        Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it.

Mark Twain.

Comment

• Eine Alpensinfonie
          Host
          • Nov 2010

You know I have a really soft spot for the Vienna Philharmonic putting on this fantastic concert and broadcasting it live every year on my birthday.

Comment

• doversoul1
            Ex Member
            • Dec 2010

What’s happened to Brian Kay?

Comment

• Alison
              • Nov 2010

Originally posted by doversoul View Post
              What’s happened to Brian Kay?
              You mean he's gone ? It was his only gig of the year.

God bless Brian Kay.

Comment

• doversoul1