X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mr Pee
    • Nov 2010

Music on Sky Arts

This thread is for discussion of the music, opera, and music related features on Sky Arts 1 and 2. Please do not use this thread to discuss the rights and wrongs of News International. if you want to do that, keep posting on the Sky Arts 2 thread:-

I'm relatively new to Sky, and have been most pleasantly surprised by the range and breadth of music programming. Amongst recent highlights have been Martha Argerich performing the Schumann Piano Concerto with the Liepzig Gewandhaus Orchestra and Riccardo Chailly- a really remarkable performance that made me hear the work anew. The same orchestra and conductor then gave an all Mendellsohn concert a few days later, which again was excellent.

And I'm greatly looking forward to next week's Peter Grimes from the Met, conductedby Donald Runnicles.

I also found the interview with Andre Previn on Sky Arts 1 a week or so ago quite fascinating, and the documentary about the West-East Divan Orchestra, "Knowledge is the beginning", which at least showed a glimmer of hope for the Middle East, and increased my appreciation for Daniel Barenboim's efforts in that region a thousand fold.

What have been other Sky subscriber's highlights recently- and what are you watching out for that's coming up?
    Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it.

Mark Twain.
  • John Wright
    • Mar 2007

Next week on Sky Arts 2 there's a few operas of which I might only dip into Barber of Seville (Florez/DiDonata). There's also (Thurs) a programme on Alison Balsom and one late night there's a docu programme featuring musicians inspired by Miles Davis.
    - - -

John W

Comment

• Il Grande Inquisitor
      • Mar 2007

Much for bel canto fans to enjoy on SkyArts2 recently, including La Sonnambula, Lucia di Lammermoor and I Puritani all from recent Met seasons.